Tournament History How it all began

The Jamie Farr Owens Corning Classic Presented by Kroger  (JFOCC) has made the hopes and dreams come true for many NWO children. The tournament was first held in 1984 at Glengarry Country Club (presently Stone Oak Country Club) until 1988 when it moved to Highland Meadows Golf Club. In 1984 the purse was only $175,000 and 100 golfers played in the tournament. Since that first tournament, the growth of the event has been due to the support of many local businesses and strong community support.

The JFOCC began as a dream of Toledo native, Judd Silverman. He was living the life of a PGA caddy in 1982 when his aspirations to bring a ladies’ professional golf tournament to Toledo became a reality. Silverman contacted John Laupheimer, the 1984 LPGA commissioner and received approval to host an LPGA tournament in Toledo. He returned home and secured the tournament’s first 12 founding sponsors, who covered the purse that first year. Jamie Farr agreed to lend his name to the event and brought his celebrity friends to the tournament. The Toledo McDonald’s franchises underwrote the operating expenses with the agreement that a portion of the money raised would benefit the Ronald McDonald House.

The tournament has become a highlighted stop on the LPGA tour. It was voted 5th favorite of all the stops. The purse has grown substantially from that first year to $1,400,000.   The tournament has become a huge event in Northwest Ohio/Southeast Michigan attracting over 70,000 spectators.  The community support has grown significantly over the years and is the largest sporting event in the area.  The tournament attracts all ages to watch the greatest female golfers in the world compete.   

Since 1984, the tournament has donated millions of dollars to local children’s charities. Through the team work of over 1,500 volunteers and 400 local businesses, the Jamie Farr Owens Corning Classic is making a difference for children in Northwest Ohio and Southeast Michigan.

Past Champions
Year    PlayerScore CoursePurse             
1984Lauri Peterson278(-10)Glengarry Country Club175,000  
1985Penny Hammel278(-10)Glengarry Country Club175,000  
1986Did not play    
1987Jane Geddes280(-8)Glengarry Country Club225,000    
1988Laura Davies277(-11)Glengarry Country Club275,000  
1989Penny Hammel206(-7)Highland Meadows Golf Club275,000   
1990Tina Purtzer205(-8)Highland Meadows Golf Club325,000     
1991Alice Miller205(-8)Highland Meadows Golf Club350,000      
1992Patty Sheehan209(-4)Highland Meadows Golf Club400,000  
1993Brandie Burton201(-12)Highland Meadows Golf Club450,000  
1994Kelly Robbins204(-9)Highland Meadows Golf Club500,000   
1995Kathryn Marshall205(-8)Highland Meadows Golf Club500,000   
1996Joan Pitcock204(-9)Highland Meadows Golf Club575,000  
1997Kelly Robbins265(-19)Highland Meadows Golf Club700,000  
1998Se Ri Pak261(-23)Highland Meadows Golf Club800,000    
1999Se Ri Pak276(-8)Highland Meadows Golf Club900,000    
2000Annika Sorenstam274(-10)Highland Meadows Golf Club1,000,000   
2001Se Ri Pak269(-15)Highland Meadows Golf Club1,000,000    
2002Rachel Teske270(-14)Highland Meadows Golf Club1,000,000   
2003Se Ri Pak271(-13)Highland Meadows Golf Club1,000,000    
2004Meg Mallon277(-7)Highland Meadows Golf Club1,100,000     
2005Heather Bowie274(-10)Highland Meadows Golf Club1,200,000       
2006Mi Hyun Kim266(-18)Highland Meadows Golf Club1,200,000   
2007Se Ri Pak267(-17)Highland Meadows Golf Club1,300,000      
2008Paula Creamer 268 (-16) Highland Meadows Golf Club  1,300,000 
2009Eunjung Yi266(-18)Highland Meadows Golf Club1,300,000 


Scroll back to top